copperkillo.blogg.se

Formating my passport wd for mac and windows
Formating my passport wd for mac and windows




  1. #Formating my passport wd for mac and windows how to#
  2. #Formating my passport wd for mac and windows for mac#

Joey and I are regulars here, and we usually get things more right than wrong, although Joey does like to jab me with a gotcha once in a while if I got it wrong. I keep tax return copies and the Quicken backups because Im such a nervous Nellie I was using the 200 GB Passport for all other backups until I bought a 3 TB My Book because now I have so much stuff I want to thank you and Mike27Oct, for answering my questions and making me feel welcome to the forum. I was using a 7.5 GB thumb drive for the backups and it was full(). I set it up for my Quicken backups and so far have had no problems.

#Formating my passport wd for mac and windows for mac#

What is important is if you are using a PC you use a PC formatted drive, but if you are using a Mac you should use a pre-formatted for Mac drive, it will make your life easier.įor a PC, you can find a nice portable drive of 1TB capacity on sale for around 60-70.Ī Mac HD version will cost more, because manufacturers know Mac users are used to paying more for computer stuff (seriously). I think I will try your suggestion first and if that doesnt work I will do as JoeySmyth suggested. Since you say you didnt want to keep anything then formatting is fine. You are best to erasedelete just the folders and files you put on the disk. Probably the best free alternative is to copy everything to a Mac then format the drive NTFS for Windows. My question is if i am able to set my hard drive to a format in which it can work on both windows and mac. I then found the instructions to format it to Mac but now whenever i connect it to a pc, it wont work. In this case YES but you have to format the disk using exFAT which is a filesystem that can be used by both OS types. when i first got my WD External Hard drive, it was formatted for PC. You can replace ntfs with exfat or fat32, if you want to use it both in Windows and Mac computer. Answer (1 of 2): I suppose you are using at least Windows Vista SP1 on the PC and Snow Leopard (10.6.5) on the Mac. 'n' refers to the disk number of your WD Passport external hard drive. What you should know is that formatting will erase all data on the drive. Then, I’ll introduce you to workable and easy ways to format WD Passport external hard drive, WD Elements external hard drive and other external hard drives.

formating my passport wd for mac and windows

Yes, you can use NTFS on Mac only in read-only mode and it cannot write or overwrite any of these files.

#Formating my passport wd for mac and windows how to#

Know more on how to perform quick format and recover data after quick format here. I see that there is a download for Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for Windows. Then, type exit and press Enter to close this window. Two effective ways to format WD Passport for Windows. Quick Format - Quick format is a feature in which the Windows allows the user to format the disk or partition. Formatting My Passport Wd And Windows Download For Data I dont know what file format it is using right now and I dont know if Quicken requires a specific format.

formating my passport wd for mac and windows

Formatting My Passport Wd And Windows Download For Data.






Formating my passport wd for mac and windows